Managing For Excellence Award

Effective, sustainable programs are the result of strong organizations. Through our work with nonprofits we have been able to identify key factors that drive an organization’s success. A few of those factors include: board and staff engagement, sound fiscal health, mission driven operations and of course, commitment to excellence. 

In 1984, The Community Foundation launched its annual Managing for Excellence Award. Each year, local organizations are invited to compete for the $25,000 prize. This award is presented to an organization that exhibits outstanding nonprofit management. 

2014 Competition 

We are making changes to the MFE program for 2014. Please check back in June for updated information on the program.

2013 Winner
Quality Care for Children

2012 Winners
Small- to mid-size category – Arts Clayton
Large-sized category – Jewish Family & Career Services

2011 Winners
Small- to mid-size category – Moving in the Spirit
Large-sized category CHRIS Kids

2010 Recipients
Winner Partnership Against Domestic Violence
Finalist – Literacy Action, Inc.

2009 Recipients

Winner – Open Hand
Finalist - Jewish Family & Career Services

2008 Recipients
WinnerAtlanta Botanical Garden 
FinalistAtlanta Children’s Shelter 

Click here to see a full list of previous years’ winners.


Please contact Kristina Morris, program officer, at or 404-588-3213 if you have questions about the Managing for Excellence Program.    

Managing for Excellence Awards History

Year     Organization 
2007    Atlanta Community Food Bank (winner)
            Sheltering Arms 
2006    The Alliance Theatre (winner)
            Progressive Redevelopment, Inc.
2005    Center for the Visually Impaired (winner)
            Atlanta Children’s Shelter
            St. Jude’s Recovery Center
2004    Bobby Dodd Industries (winner)
            AIDS Survival Project 
            Open Hand
2003    Cool Girls, Inc. (winner)
            Open Hand
            AIDS Survival Project
2002    Skyland Trail - George West Mental Health Foundation, Inc.(winner)
            Georgia Center for Children
2001    Consumer Credit Counseling of Greater Atlanta (winner)
            Center for Puppetry Arts
            Center for Family Resources
            St. Jude’s Recovery Center
2000    Zoo Atlanta (winner)
            Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metro Atlanta
            Cool Girls, Inc.
            Georgia Justice Project
1999    AID Atlanta (winner)
            Christian Council of Metro Atlanta
            Georgia Council on Child Abuse 
            Senior Connections
1998    CHRIS Kids (winner)
            AID Atlanta
            Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Atlanta
            Georgia Council on Child Abuse 
            VOX Teen Newspaper
1997    Georgia Shakespeare Festival (winner)
            Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metro Atlanta
            Georgia Council on Child Abuse 
            Positive Impact
1996    St. Joseph’s Mercy Care Services (winner)
            Georgia Shakespeare Festival
            Georgia Council on Child Abuse
            Our House
1995    Jerusalem House(winner)
            Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Atlanta
            St. Joseph's Mercy Care Services
            Senior Citizen Services of Metro Atlanta
1994    Hands on Atlanta (winner)
            NW Georgia Girl Scout Council
            CHRIS Kids 
            Actor’s Express
            Jerusalem House
            Visiting Nurse Health System
1993    Atlanta Community Food Bank (winner)
1992    Open Hand (winner)
Prior to 1992, awards of $5,000 were given in four categories:

  • Small (budget under $100,000)
  • Medium (budget $100,000 to $300,000)
  • Large (budget $300,000+)
  • Sustained good management.

Listed small to sustained below
1991    No Awards Given
1990    Georgia Literacy Coalition
            Atlanta Preservation Center
            Odyssey Family Counseling Center
            Junior League of Atlanta
1989    Sandy Springs Historic Foundation
            Latin American Association
            FCS Urban Ministries
            Atlanta Community Food Bank
1988    League of Women Voters, Fulton County
            SEEDS – Christians Concerned About Hunger
            Council on Battered Women
1987    WRFG
            St. Jude’s Recovery Center 
            Zoo Atlanta
            Atlanta Housing Authority
1986    National Hemophilia Foundation
            Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metro Atlanta
            Visiting Nurse Health System 
            Brandon Hall School
1985    Hub Counseling and Education Center
            Georgia Council on Child Abuse
            My Turn Now
            (No sustained award given)
1984    Metro Atlanta Recovery Residence
            Atlanta Community Food Bank
            (no large or sustained award given)


Your Checklist for Giving


At The Community Foundation, our work with nonprofits each year allows us to build knowledge around smart investments and key characteristics of excellent nonprofits.

Along with passion for the work, we believe those nonprofits most equipped to make a difference in the community are those with strong operations and management.

Read more here and download our Checklist for Giving.

Strengthening Nonprofits

Choose an area below to learn more about characteristics of nonprofit effectiveness

Our 23 County Region  
County Map